picture of Rugby League World Cup

Nov 3 - Dec 2, 2017

The 2017 Rugby League World Cup is hosted by Australia, New Zealand, and Papua New Guinea in a combined 13 cities.

This is the 15th Rugby League World Cup, which started in 1954. Australia has won ten of those previous 14 events, with Great Britain winning three times, and New Zealand once. (Great Britain's team has since split up to become four teams:  England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland.) 

The groups are divided somewhat unevenly, allowing for a lower-tier nation to find a way to the quarterfinals (this happened to the USA in 2013). The top three from Groups A and B make the quarters, as do the winners of Group C and Group D.