England and France W6N Road Warriors in Round 1

Women Six Nations Round 1 Highlights

Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

France's ferocious forwards and England's continuous attack bullied their opponents in round 1 of the 2019 Women's Six Nations. Les Bleus and the Red Roses positioned themselves as favorites to win the title, but the perennial powerhouses will have to prove it right away as they face off next Sunday, Feb. 10, in Doncaster, England, LIVE on FloRugby.

Red Roses Roll Ireland

England never let Ireland get their game plan started in Dublin, where the crowd set a new attendance record for a single-event women’s match. Ireland had one exciting intercept, but couldn’t bring it for a try.

England’s attack was masterful and it seems the professional contract structure has progressed England’s continuity over strength or fitness. When Ireland would play in tight, flyhalf Katey Daley-McLean would shift the ball out to the edges and let her back three operate on the corner. As soon as Ireland would spread themselves out, England would feed their forwards endless crash balls.

 

Any momentum Ireland had was stolen away by Daley-McLean's boot. Ireland forced Daley-McLean to the sideline where she looked to be out of space until she sent a perfect grubber down the touchline for her fullback to dot down.

Katey Daley-McLean took home the player of the match honors for steering the England attack around the pitch. “People are going to talk about England/France, but we had to come here tonight and do our job first," said Daley-McLean

The Red Roses not only spot space well, but they can move the ball exactly where it needs to go. France will be England’s toughest test and they square off next Sunday live on FloRugby.

2019 Women's Six Nations Viewing Schedule
DateMatchupScoreLinkWho Can Watch
Feb-1England at Ireland51-5On-DemandUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-1Italy at Scotland28-7On-DemandUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-2Wales at France3-53On-DemandUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-8Ireland at Scotland1:35PM CT
7:35PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-9Wales at Italy1:00PM CT
7:00PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-10France at England6:45AM CT
12:45PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-23Ireland at Italy12:45PM CT
6:45PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-23Scotland at France2:00PM CT
8:00PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Feb-24England at Wales6:30AM CT
12:30PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-8Wales at Scotland1:35PM CT
7:35PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-9Italy at England6:05AM CT
12:05PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-9France at Ireland1:00PM CT
7:00PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-16Scotland at England2:30PM CT
8:30PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-17Ireland at Wales8:30AM CT
2:30PM GMT
Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal
Mar-17France at Italy8:30AM CT
2:30PM GMT

Watch LiveUSA, Middle East, North Africa, Portugal

Ferocious France

France is absolutely monstrous in the forwards and they snatched the Welsh home momentum at the first possession. Les Bleus destroyed the first Welsh scrum, earned the penalty and then mauled in the lineout for the try. 

Lock Safi N’Diaye was undoubtedly the best player on the pitch. N’Diaye uses every ounce of her 5-foot-11, 205-pound frame to punish the defense, whether rucking or carrying the ball. She towers over defenders with her upright running style, so when she’s only wrapped by tacklers she has full mobility to make an offload or a full-on pass in contact.

When N'Diaye dove over for a snipe pass try the commentator said, "To be fair there aren't many players that can keep N'Diaye out from the close to the tryline."

The highlight of the match came from the boot of French flyhalf Camille Imart with her cross-field kick to her wing Lea Murie.

Next Sunday, France will not be able to bully England’s forwards like they did the Welsh. The flyhalf battle of Katey Daley McLean and Camille Imart will determine not only the match but likely the Six Nations title. 

Italy Puts Scotland to Sleep

Italy and Scotland was the tightest test of the weekend. For a long stretch the match was kept 7-7, but the Italians pulled away with 10 minutes to play for the 28-7 victory. Italy forced Scotland to defend their try line several times in the match. By the end of the match there were Scotland players receiving aid from the physio at every stoppage, a sign that Italy had tired out the Scots.

Both Scotland and Italy have smaller backlines, which will give them issues against the bigger France squad, and both will likely struggle to keep up with England’s fitness and continuous attack. 

England Rugby Heads To Italy To Heat Things Up

null

It's hot in Italy, and that's what Eddie Jones wants.

NAI 7s Trap Team: Arizona Bobcats

null

Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

The Arizona Bobcats are the ultimate trap team at NAI 7s.

Who Makes The USA World Cup Squad? The Forwards

Joe Taufetee: Tries Record Is Nice But ...

As the USA Men's 15s team gets ready for the Pacific Nations Cup, there's a thought trickling through everyone's mind—the 2019 Men's Rugby World Cup.

11 Women Club 7s Qualifiers Decided

Scion To Women Premier Final

We're a huge step closer to knowing the entire 16-team field for the USA Rugby Women's Club 7s Championships after this weekend's action.

Ten Men's Club 7s Qualifiers Finalized

The USA Rugby Club 7s National Championship field is almost full after a rousing weekend of qualifier action around the nation.

It's Down To This: Club 7s Qualifiers Climactic Weekend

Dolan: We Finished That Bad Boy

Just three weekends away from Club 7s nationals and many of the contenders are separating themselves from the pack.

Under The Radar But On Top Of Northeast: Mystic River

How Close Did Mystic Come To a 15s 7s Double?

Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

It's a little weird to say that a rugby team based in Boston flies under the radar—the city is no shrinking violet—but that is what has happened in club rugby.

Officials Named For 2019 Rugby World Cup

Get To Know Legendary Referee Nigel Owens

Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

With the Rugby World Cup just around the corner, World Rugby has announced the match official appointments for the 40 matches that comprise the tournament’s pool stage. 

Team By Team Preview Ahead Of The Rugby Championship

Slipper, Kudirani Look To Springbok Text

It's been just two weeks since the grand finale of the Super Rugby campaign, but already The Rugby Championship is here and the finest teams of the Southern Hemisphere are ready to sort out who's the best of the best. 

NAV 7s Shoots Up In Rankings

National Athlete Village Sevens is up near the top of the FloRugby Men's Club 7s rankings thanks to some solid results, and a wide-ranging partnership that is only just beginning.